Yarn & Paper – Alanna the Lioness, and Seamed Booties

Every Wednesday I share what I’m knitting (Yarn) and reading (Paper) this week. 

Tamora Pierce is absolutely my favourite author, bar none. I own every single one of her books, a rare occurrence in my increasingly minimalist library. Her books have made it through so many rounds of decluttering they now take up nearly a third of my bookshelf! Pierce writes with a dry wit that I love, and her characters are realistic and engaging. Her female characters are strong and independent (and often the protagonists) and her male protagonists are clearly feminist. Her novels are set in a world with cultures clearly inspired by our own, with addition of magic and mythical creatures providing extra zest. These were the novels that inspired me as an adolescent, and now they are my “comfort food” in book form.

I’m not sure exactly what sparked my latest re-read of Pierce’s novels, but I’m certainly having fun binge-ing them week after week. I started with Pierce’s “Protector of the Small” quartet, and then I jumped back to her first quartet, “Song of the Lioness“. I just finished the fourth book and now I’m debating which series to re-read next. I re-read Pierce’s books every few years, and every time I get something new out of them. This time reading about all of these strong, fit lady knights has inspired me to start running again and even prompted me to sign up for an strength workout class. I always did have a secret wish to be as strong and powerful as Keladry of Mindelan 🙂

On the yarn front, I spent some time last week finishing the knitting and seaming up these darling little Saartje’s Bootees. Next I need to make button loops and sew on the adorable buttons I picked up at my local yarn store. Then it’s back to my usual vanilla socks, unless I’m inspired to cast on something new. You know, in between all the running and strength training. If I could just get the hang of knitting and running at the same time…

This entry was posted in Yarn & Paper. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

