Yarn & Paper – Cozy Mysteries, and Adorable Booties

Every Wednesday I share what I’m knitting (Yarn) and reading (Paper) this week. 

Last fall I read the entire Daisy Dalrymple series and loved it. I was so impatient for the next book that I read them completely out of order, just going with whatever was available at the library next. There is some continuity between the books, so recently I decided to re-read them in order. Carola Dunn does such a fantastic job of bringing 1920s England to life, and this series has quickly become my “comfort” reading. I actually listened to audiobooks for the first half of the series, but now I’m back to reading since the library doesn’t have the later books as audiobooks. The Bloody Tower is book #16 in the series.

After finishing my Fair Isle baby hat a few weeks ago I decided to use up the leftovers by making a pair of baby booties. They make adorable baby shower gifts and they are often designed with unusual construction. I’ve made Saartje’s Bootees before and enjoyed it, but I’d forgotten how much seaming and weaving in of ends there is. The booties mostly just look like odd shapes at the moment but I know they’ll be devastatingly cute once they are finished. Plus, it is gives me a good excuse to go on a button hunt!

This entry was posted in Yarn & Paper. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn & Paper – Cozy Mysteries, and Adorable Booties

  1. Helen says:

    Hi, have you read any of the Yarn shop mysteries? I completely fell in love with them as it seems you have with Daisy Dalrymple … I am going to look up them up soon as I send this to you 🙂

Leave a Comment

