Yarn & Paper – Knitting Outside the Lines, and a Finished Sock

Every Wednesday I share what I’m knitting (Yarn) and reading (Paper) this week. 

I missed the Yarn & Paper post last week because I needed a little break from all the responsibilities and expectations of adult life. Most of those expectations are ones I’ve put on myself, but they still cause stress sometimes. The break was really helpful, and I’m looking forward to a more substantial one next week, when I’m taking some actual vacation time from work. I plan to sleep in. A lot.

Part of my mini-break was having a very relaxed weekend, which meant I got a lot of reading done. I curled up in my hanging chair with a big pot of tea and a stack of knitting books from my to-read shelf and just hung out for a couple hours each morning. Several of those books then moved to the donate” pile, but one book that I decided to keep is Mason-Dixon Knitting Outside the Lines, by Kay Gardiner and Ann Shayne. It’s an older book that I picked up for free at a Knitting Guild meeting sometime last year. I love the Mason-Dixon knitters’ writing style, and I immediately favourited about half a dozen patterns on Ravelry. I prefer digital patterns, so I only keep pattern books if I like the majority of the patterns.

I’m still sticking with just a couple of knitting projects as I try to finish up long-standing WIPs. I’m finishing up the toe of the first sock of this pair, and I love how the colourway knitted up. The pops of orange brighten up the dark red and green just the right amount. After this I’ll cast on the second sock and knit the leftovers from the first into hexipuffs for my ever-growing beekeeper’s quilt sock yarn blanket.

This entry was posted in Yarn & Paper. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

