Yarn & Paper – Embracing Hygge, and a Finished Hat

Every Wednesday I share what I’m knitting (Yarn) and reading (Paper) this week. 

I can’t remember when I first heard about the Danish concept of “hygge“. It is a hard concept to define, being somewhat related to the English word “cosy”. The Wikipedia page calls it a “form of everyday togetherness”. It evokes candles and wool socks in winter, or warm drinks around a campfire on a summer evening. The more I read about hygge, the more I want to deliberately increase the level of hygge in my life. Close friends and family are an important part of hygge, and I’ve definitely enjoyed increasing my family and friends time recently. Of course, I’m always in favour of lighting a candle and making a cup of tea. I’ve become rather obsessed with hygge, putting four different books with hygge in the title on hold at the library. The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking was the first to become available. The book is very stylized, with beautiful photos, and writing that wanders over a variety of hygge-related topics and statistics. It is an enjoyable, light introduction to the concept of hygge but not quite as in-depth as I was hoping for. I’m also reading The Year of Living Danishly as an e-book. That book is by Helen Russell, an expat to Denmark from Britain, and I’m enjoying it immensely.

On the knitting front, I’ve finished the Fair Isle hat! I started it in 2015 so it was one of my oldest WIPs. I’m so glad to finally have it done, and I’m really pleased with how it came out, especially after the blocking. I charted all the designs myself, which was a fun exercise. I think I messed up something in the decrease section on the crown, although I’m not sure exactly what went wrong. It’s good enough to call it finished, anyway. On to the next hibernating project!

This entry was posted in Yarn & Paper. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn & Paper – Embracing Hygge, and a Finished Hat

  1. Marjorie Speir says:

    I had wondered what Hygge was all about. Thanks for the explanation. Maybe I am part Danish as I share in this value immensely. Hense, my in-ending efforts to establish good Hygge which remains forever just out of reach, much to my frustration!

  2. Lisa N. says:

    Your hat looks very nice, I love the patterns and the colors you selected! I was lent the Little Book of Hygge and I started reading it, I find it so descriptive as well and it did not grab me at first. I want to continue reading it though, because I love reading how the Danish incorporate Hygge into their lives, and I want to learn some things. So I will pick it up again soon. That’s great you are enjoying the Hygge books and the Danish culture. The book “The Year of Living Danishly” sounds interesting, I will add that one to my list!

  3. Pingback: Yarn & Paper – Shakespeare and Socks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

