Yarn & Paper – Buddhism and Fair Isle, on a Train

Every Wednesday I share what I’m knitting (Yarn) and reading (Paper) this week. 

After re-reading 10% Happier, by Dan Harris, I decided to check out one of Mark Epstein’s books from the library. Epstein comes up in the second half of Harris’ book as a mentor and a resource on Harris’ journey with meditation. Epstein is a Buddhist and a psychologist, and I was curious to see what his writing is like. I picked Going on Being mostly at random, and I’m not sure it was the right choice. I’m finding some of it a bit incomprehensible, and the rest a little too abstract. I’m going to persevere with it, mostly because I just can’t put down a book unfinished, but I won’t go looking for more.

I took the train to Burlington last weekend to visit family. Taking the train fills me with a wonderful blend of nostalgia for my time in Europe, relief at not having to spend hours and hours of my weekend driving, and satisfaction at how much I can get done. Plus, I can knit on the train! This time I brought along the ribbing for a Fair Isle baby hat I’m knitting as an exercise in design. I left the ribbing until the end in case I ran out of yarn knitting the body of the hat. Once it is done I’m going to graft the ribbing onto the rest of the hat. Luckily I don’t mind grafting, because there is going to be a lot of it. It was good train knitting, though, and a fun way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

This entry was posted in Yarn & Paper. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

