Yarn & Paper – Back to Writing Knitting Patterns, and a Fair Isle Hat

Every Wednesday I share what I’m knitting (Yarn) and reading (Paper) this week. 

The Festival of Quilts is over, the History of Quilting display was (barely) finished in time, and days later I’m still recovering from a very full weekend. I really do need just a few days rest, which I’m hoping to get this coming weekend. In the meantime, I’m back to reading Kate Atherley’s The Beginner’s Guide to Writing Knitting Patterns, which is now overdue at the library. It is a quick read, really, I’ve just been distracted lately. It would be a fantastic reference book to have on hand if you write knitting patterns with any frequency. I’m just reading it out of curiosity, and the vague thought that I might like to get into tech editing at some point.

I started this Fair Isle baby hat after buying the yarn on a whim several years ago. I knit the body of the hat on a provisional cast-on, in case I ran out of yarn part-way through. All the charts are my own, worked out on graph paper ahead of time. At some point the project got stuck at some decision point and I put it away for months. I pulled the project out again this past weekend as the next “backlog” project that I wanted to tackle. I just finished the crown, and now I need to knit the ribbing and do some epic grafting to attach it to the body of the hat. I’ve been making slow progress on the number of projects in my “backlog”, both crafting- and computer-based projects. Ideally I’d like to have less than 10 because they start to stress me out when they build up. At the moment I’m down to 22, so I still have a ways to go.

This entry was posted in Yarn & Paper. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn & Paper – Back to Writing Knitting Patterns, and a Fair Isle Hat

  1. Marjorie Speir says:

    Adorable hat! Looking forward to seeing the end result.

Leave a Comment

