Yarn & Paper – Tutankhamun Continues, and New Socks

Every Wednesday I share what I’m knitting (Yarn) and reading (Paper) this week. 

The Splitstone vest from last week’s post is getting too big to fit into my purse, so I cast on a new set of vanilla socks to carry with me everywhere I go. The yarn is from a store in Shediac, New Brunswick. I bought it last fall during my first road trip through the Maritime provinces with my boyfriend. I bought a lot of yarn on that trip, and this is the first ball that I’ve cast on. The colours aren’t knitting up quite how I expected, and I’m not sure I like it so far. Hopefully the orange becomes less prominent as I get further into the ball.

I read fairly quickly, but it has taken me 2 months of daily reading-with-breakfast to get only most of the way through this Tutankhamun book. The bulk of the book is mostly short descriptions of the various items found in Tutankhamun’s tomb, which makes it perfect for short 10-15 minutes reading sessions. The photos are what really make the book; they are gorgeous and incredibly detailed photos. And unlike many coffee-table books, the text is well written and interesting to read. My only issue is that it doesn’t usually take me this long to get through a book, so I’m starting to get impatient to finish it and move on to the next one.

This entry was posted in Yarn & Paper. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn & Paper – Tutankhamun Continues, and New Socks

  1. Pingback: Yarn & Paper – The Shakespeare Encyclopedia, and Significant Vest Progress | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

