Yarn Along – Tea, Taproot and the Toe of a Sock

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

Amazingly I had most of a day last weekend with no scheduled plans. It was a sunny, if cold day, so I took myself down to the Scone Witch on Elgin St and indulged in a scone sandwich (the best!) and more than one pot of their delicious house blend tea. I brought along last issue of Taproot to finish. The next issue is on it’s way and I’m determined to finish each issue before the next one arrives. Sitting in the winter sunshine, sipping tea and indulging in this wonderful ad-free magazine was the perfect way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

I’m getting so close to the end of my second vanilla sock in this lovely, shiny yarn. I got to the toe decreases on the weekend and now there are just a few more rows until the end. A short stretch of grafting, just four ends to weave in, and a quick soak in some wool wash is all that stands between me and a new pair of wool socks. We’ve had a return of very snowy, wintery weather in Ottawa this week so I could really use some more wool. Plus, finishing this project will mean I can finally start thinking about casting on something new!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

