Yarn Along – Same Book, Same Socks

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

I spent several hours on the train this weekend going to Burlington and back for a quick visit with my family. Despite it’s size, I lugged Quilts and Other Bed Coverings in the Canadian Tradition, by Ruth McKendry, along with me. As I mentioned on a previous post, I’m doing research for a display on the history of quilting in Canada for the Ottawa Valley Quilters Guild Festival of Quilts in May, and the deadline is looming! I’m about halfway through the book now, and there is another book at the downtown branch of the Ottawa Library that is reference-only (i.e. can’t be loaned out) that I’d like to get through before I start writing. I’m still not sure how the display is going to look, and how to balance the writing with photos (I still need to find photos). I’m starting to get nervous about finishing it all in time. Luckily that nervous feeling is keeping me focused and helping me fight my instincts towards procrastinate. I’m working very hard to stay focus so that I won’t have to rush through it all at the last minute.

These vanilla socks have been in progress since March 2016, so I suppose it’s not surprising that it has featured in Yarn Along posts before. I take them with me everywhere but rarely actually knit on them. They are my “emergency” knitting, in case I get stuck somewhere with nothing to do. That happens less and less often lately, probably because I always have the whole internet to read on my phone at any given moment. Still, knowing I have these as a “productive” time-filler has helped to get me out the door earlier and plan to arrive early more often. Of course, this usually results in arriving on time, rather than early. The yarn is lovely and the socks are turning out beautiful, if oddly mismatched, but I’m starting to get a bit bored with them. It’s time to finish them off, so I’m making them my main knitting project for awhile. Once they are done, I’ll be able to cast on something new!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – Same Book, Same Socks

  1. Lisa N. says:

    Good luck with the research and the display! the socks are looking great, and it is good you are almost done if you are getting bored, that happens to me too its best to finish them like you said!

Leave a Comment

