Yarn Along – Cures for the Punctually Challenged, with some Hexipuffs

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2017-02-27-09-45-08

After finishing off the cup cozies from last week, I once again found myself without a main knitting project (except those vanilla socks I’ve been neglecting). I picked up the leftovers from the last skein of my Travel Memories pillow cover to knit into hexipuffs, which will tide me over for a few days. Once those are done I’ll have to decide between finishing another old WIP or casting on something new and exciting. My current candidate for “new and exciting” is Amanda Schwabe’s Two shawl. I love the travelling stitches, and it is all slip-stitch colourwork so it should be a fairly simple knit. I only have four remaining knitting WIPs, though, so it is equally tempting to finish off one of those first. Decisions, decisions.

I have been mildly punctually challenged for most of my life. It is a mild affliction because I’m not usually very late, and I can be on time when it is important. I’ve never missed a flight or an interview, but I’ve come close a few times. I have a bad tendency of keeping my friends and family waiting. I’m also not a morning person, and I have trouble moving quickly in the mornings, so I’ve always had a hard time being on time to work. I’m always trying to do one more thing before I leave the house, and I tend to be overly optimistic in my estimates of travel times. My inclination is to try to be efficient, and not “waste” time; this is usually at the expense of those around me, and my own stress levels.

I can’t remember how I discovered the book Never Be Late Again by Diana DeLonzor, but I thought it might be helpful so I put it on my wishlist. My sister immediately bought it for me as a gift, and possibly also as a not-so-subtle hint. Reading this slim volume made me realize that a lot of my efforts at simplifying my life in the past couple of years has also made me more punctual. By reducing the amount of rushing in my days I’ve actually made it more likely that I arrive on time for events. By working on getting to sleep earlier so I’m more rested, I’ve made it so much easier to get up in the morning. And by setting up a slow, reasonable morning routine I give myself plenty of time to get to work at the time I want to. Well, closer to the time I want to, anyway. It is still a work in progress, after all. I’ve been very conscious lately of resisting the urge to do one more thing before leaving, and I’m trying to be more realistic with my travel time estimates. So, by the time I read this book, I was already doing most of the exercises the author recommends for my type of lateness. Which was a pleasant surprise! I did appreciate the reassurance that I’m on the right track. For anyone just starting to try to improve their punctuality, this is a very helpful, quick read that just could put you on the right path.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

