Yarn Along – Tutankhamun and Cup Cozies

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2017-02-20-13-16-08

I’m finding the big maps book hard to read at breakfast. It is just too big, and has so little text it is more suited to absorbing that straightforward reading. So I switched the next-largest book in my to-read pile: Tutankhamun by TG Henry James. It was a gift many years ago that I never read, so it feels good to finally get around to it. The pages are full of stunning photos of Egyptian artifacts, and a surprisingly comprehensive history of the relevant period in Ancient Egypt. I’m enjoying both photos and text, and I’ll be glad to pass it on to some budding Egyptologist when I’m finished. I’m not really a coffee-table book person, so once I’ve read through the book once I don’t have much reason to keep it. Starting with the largest, heaviest books on my to-read shelf was a good idea; each book I remove creates so much more space that it motivates me to pick up the next one right away.

I finished my Christian’s Hat, and was inspired to cast on “matching” coffee cup cozies with the leftovers. The ribbing pattern from the hat shows off the variegation in the yarn, and it works well as a cozy. The cozies are just the right size to be worn as wristers, so they serve a double purpose. The plan is to gift two cozies plus hat as a set to a friend whose birthday is coming up. Depending how much yarn is leftover I may knit up a third cozy as another gift, or I may just put a pom-pom on the hat after all. 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

