Yarn Along – Pain Free Back, and Hat Decreases

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2017-02-14-09-57-31

Well, I got the last Mary Russell book out of the library yesterday (The Murder of Mary Russell by Laurie R King)…and read it all in one night. I stayed up very, very late. Surprisingly I haven’t felt many effects of the late night today. Apparently I can function fine on one night of minimal sleep, although I know from experience more than one will backfire spectacularly. When not staying up into the wee hours reading mystery novels, I started reading Esther Gokhale’s 8 Steps to a Pain-Free Back. My Dad recommended it years ago and I finally decided to give it a try. Every year I have more and more discomfort in my lower back, wrist and fingers, and it’s definitely correlated with increased time sitting at a computer. I’m hoping that improving my posture will slow, and ideally reverse, this steady decline. I haven’t tried any of the exercises yet, but just reading the introduction has made me more aware of my own posture and the posture of people around me. It will be interesting to see if the exercises cause any noticeable, long-term improvement.

I’m motoring along on my Christian’s Hat, and I love how it’s turning out. I haven’t decided what to do with it yet, though. It isn’t really my colour, so I’m wavering between hanging on to it until I find the right person to gift it to, or just donating it right away. Unfortunately there is still about a third of the ball left, and I decided not to do a pom-pom so I’ll have to find some other way to use up the rest of the skein. I’m already thinking about what project to cast on next. A few of the patterns I saw knit up at the Ottawa Knitting Guild meeting on Monday night have given me some ideas. Maybe it’s finally time to break into the haul from my Maritimes road trip last fall…

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

