Yarn Along – Big Maps, and More Spiral Hat

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2017-02-08-09-45-04

I’ve been devouring the Mary Russell Mystery series at a rate of about one book every 1-2 days, which means I’m not getting much else done. Luckily there is only one book left in the series, and it is currently unavailable at my library. I’m being saved from my own obsession by the library hold queue! Which is good, since apparently willpower alone isn’t enough to keep me from these books. While I wait for that last book, I’ve gone back to my to-read pile to tackle the largest book on my shelves: New Worlds: Maps from the Age of Discovery. It doesn’t contain a lot of actual text, mostly just the big maps. I love old maps, and I’m enjoying paging through them. The book is so large it doesn’t fit on my bookshelves, so I think I’ll be passing it on when I’m done.

I’m continuing with my Christian’s Hat. It isn’t really great social knitting, since the stitch pattern requires a bit of counting, but I’m managing to catch my mistakes as I go. It looks like there will be some yarn leftover when the hat is done, which I’ll probably  make into a pom pom. The stitch pattern creates a springy and warm fabric, which is perfect for this equally springy yarn. A good combination 🙂

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along – Big Maps, and More Spiral Hat

  1. Sarah says:

    I love the colours in your hat! So pretty!
    I love browsing maps. When I was in high school, my parents bought me a big atlas with lovely maps. Every five years or so, I get it out to browse. It’s interesting to see how things have changed since I was in high school 🙂

    • Jess says:

      I have an old atlas I found in high school too! I think it pre-dates my school days, though 🙂 I always found it so strange to realize how much borders have changed over the years.

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along – Tutankhamun and Cup Cozies | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

