Yarn Along – Canadian Quilts, and a New Hat

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2017-02-01-09-58-20

I’m still making my way through the Mary Russell Mystery series, and while I’m enjoying this extended fiction binge it has unfortunately displaced any non-fiction reading for several weeks. I haven’t actually started Quilts and Other Bed Coverings in the Canadian Tradition, by Ruth McKendry, having only picked it up from the library last night, but I need to find time to dive into it soon. The Ottawa Valley Quilters Guild, of which I am a member, is having its biennial Quilt Show in May, and I have promised to do a write-up for the display on the history of Canadian Quilts. 2017 is Canada’s 150th birthday, and this display is just one way that OVQG is getting in on the celebration. This book was the one of only two books on Canadian quilting history at the library, and the other one is a reference book that can’t be checked out. My plan is to start with the book and build on it with information from the Internet. That way I can be relatively confident that I have a solid basis in fact before getting overwhelmed by all the information available online.

I found myself with only one project in progress (a pair of vanilla socks) a few days ago, so that meant it was time to cast on something new. I chose one of the skeins from my Scotland trip that didn’t fit in the colour scheme of the Garter Squish pillow cover and cast on a Christian’s Hat to fill the void. The skein is fairly large so I knit a very long brim, and now I’m just hoping I won’t run out of yarn a few inches short of the end. That would be maddening. The colour variegation in the skein has resolved into a faint spiral effect in the brim, which you can just see in the photo. The pattern is simple, just what I’m looking for right now. I’m saving all my “brain intensive” knitting time for finishing existing WIPs, so it is simple knits for now and the foreseeable future.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – Canadian Quilts, and a New Hat

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along – Same Book, Same Socks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

