Yarn Along – Garter Squish is Knit, and a Return to Alternative Regency

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2017-01-23-11-16-16

As you can see, I’ve finished the knitting on the Garter Squish pillow cover. It took every skein of undyed yarn in the approximately correct yarn weight to do it, but in the end it came out just the right size. The finished rectangle is now about twice as long as it is wide, which should give me a nice square pillow. All of the yarns in this pillow cover were souvenirs that I bought while travelling, and all but one came from my 2012 backpacking trip to Scotland. Of the coloured yarns, the pink is organically-dyed Shetland wool from the Shetland Textile Museum in Lerwick, the blue is a Green Mountain Spinnery wool/mohair blend that I bought on a snowboard trip in Vermont, and the green is a cashmere/angora/wool blend from The Yarn Cake in Glasgow. The variegated black-and-white undyed wool came from a farmer’s market near Edinburgh Castle. The two solid undyed yarns were both purchased in Orkney; the darker yarn is Shetland wool spun at the New Lanark Mills Heritage Site (which I also visited later in the trip), and the lighter is North Ronaldsey yarn that I bought at the post office on North Ronaldsey. My trip to North Ronaldsey was probably the highlight of my trip. I took a ferry and a tiny plane to get to that northernmost island of Orkney just to visit the seaweed-eating North Ronaldsey sheep, which live nowhere else in the world. It was a crazy thing to do, and just the kind of whimsical, spur-of-the-moment side adventure that made that backpacking trip so much fun.

I’m taking a break from the Mary Russell Mystery series and going back to the sequel to Sorcery and Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer, The Grand Tour:Being a Revelation of Matters of High Confidentiality and Greatest Importance, Including Extracts from the Intimate Diary of a Noblewoman and the Sworn Testimony of a Lady of Quality. I absolutely love that title. While not quite as compelling as the first book in the series, I do enjoy the alternative history Regency period (it’s basically Jane Austen + magic) and the characters these two authors have created. I’m almost through this book and will likely pick up the final book in the trilogy as soon as I’m done. This has really been quite the month for me and historical/mystery novels.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – Garter Squish is Knit, and a Return to Alternative Regency

  1. What a fabulous idea to tour an area and pick up wool. Scotland is one of my favourite places to travel and I have many happy memories visiting wool mills on the way. I love that you have now made it up into a pillow cover. What a way to remember a trip. I quite understand why you’d go that little bit further to see such special sheep.

Leave a Comment

