Yarn Along – Garter Squish Continues, and Mysteries Abound

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2017-01-17-10-19-31

I joined the Shilasdair yarn to my Garter Squish pillow cover and it is coming along nicely. The bamboo needles I’m using are getting a little stained from the indigo dye but its a manageable amount. This is going to end up a rather large, possibly not-quite-square pillow. I now wish I’d cast on fewer stitches initially, but I’m too far into it to rip the whole thing back. I may have to put it on hold until I come up with enough yarn to finish it. We’ll see how far I get with the current yarn pairing.

After finishing my one “backlog” book for the month I went on a fiction binge. I’ve burned through 8 novels so far this month, all set in England. 4 of the novels are from Laurie R King’s Mary Russell Mystery series, which I absolutely love. I have them all as e-books which makes it even easier to read whenever and wherever. I might have stayed up far too late several times this week because I just couldn’t bring myself to put the book down. I’ve also picked up another old favourite, Sorcery and Cecelia by Patricia C Wrede and Caroline Stevermer, a fun alternative-history Regency novel written as a series of letters between two young women. To top it all off the next Seaside Knitters Mystery, A Finely Knit Murder by Sally Goldenbaum, just arrived from the library. Usually this amount of binge reading is a sign I’m avoiding some uncomfortable emotion, so I’m going to have to take some time for reflection soon and figure out what’s going on. Until then, I’m enjoying the ride.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – Garter Squish Continues, and Mysteries Abound

  1. Deborah says:

    That’s going to be a very pretty pillow. The yarn is very pretty. I have been advised to read the Laurie King books. I bought one and just haven’t gotten to it yet.

Leave a Comment

