Yarn Along – Miles of Garter Squish, and Taproot Share

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2017-01-04-20-11-36

I’m blown away by how quickly this Garter Squish pillow is knitting up, and by how fast it is absorbing yarn! Most of my knitting projects use fingering weight using 3-4mm needles at the largest, and those pieces grow at a much slower rate. These two strands of worsted on 9mm needles are practically knitting themselves. Despite this, I’ve had a few moments of uncertainty with this project. It is taking more yarn than I expected, and I’m having unusually strong feelings about how some of the colours look next to each other. The original plan was to use only yarn I had bought on my backpacking trip to Scotland, but that would have meant creating a very scrappy-looking pillow. I want to be able to love and use this pillow more than I want to use up the yarn, so I’m letting go of the yarn restriction and combing my stash for yarn of the appropriate weight and colour. The only remaining issue is whether I have enough neutral yarn to get the length I need. If not, I may have to consider ripping the whole thing out and re-knitting it to a smaller width. I may decide to do that, if that is what it takes to get a pillow cover I will actually like and use. For now, I’m pushing forward with the yarn I have.

The newest issue of Taproot (Share) arrived in December, but I didn’t get a chance to start reading until after Christmas. It seems to have be written to be read before the holidays, so I wish I’d started it sooner. Maybe I can skim through it again next December to get that holiday feeling again. I’m really enjoying the theme of this issue. There is a set of cross-stitch patterns that makes me want to cast aside my current projects and head to the store for Aida cloth and embroidery floss, regardless of the season. I’m holding myself back (for now). This brings my number of Taproot issues in various stages of completion to three, not exactly where I want it to be. Time to buckle down and finish them before the next issue arrives!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

