Yarn Along – Wandering with Hexipuffs

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-12-11-09-42-11

The yarn from last week’s vanilla sock came in two balls, one for each sock. As soon as the first sock was off the needles I started knitting up the leftovers of the first ball into hexipuffs. I think I’ve hit on the best way (for me) to deal with leftover yarn: always have a scrap project in progress. That way, there is no decision to make about what to do with a half-skein of sock yarn. I just immediately knit it up into hexipuffs, and then move on to the next big project. I keep a small basket on my couch for the finished hexipuffs; when it fills up I empty the basket into a bowl of hot water and Soak wash and give them all a quick blocking. Then they go into one of my underbed boxes for later seaming into my beekeeper’s quilt. I haven’t done any seaming in awhile so the bag of finished hexipuffs is getting full. Maybe that will be one of my backlogged projects that I tackle in 2017.

I’m still working on the Wander issue of Taproot Magazine. Most of my reading happens with meals, and lately I’ve been busy doing other things instead of reading Wander. My breakfast book is still The Encyclopedia of World Mythology. At lunch I’ve been working on the Ottawa Knitting Guild newsletter (late as usual!), and I’ve been catching up on Murdoch Mysteries with dinner. The latter two “distractions” should be done in the next couple of days, though, and I’ll be able to get back to Wander. I’d like to get at least one of my December mini-goals done sometime soon!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

