Yarn Along – Half a Pair of Socks, and Taproot Wander

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram(#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-12-05-10-13-14I’ve finished off several big knitting projects recently. As a result I’ve been running out of things to knit, which is not a comfortable state to be in. Of course, as soon as I think I’ve run out I find more projects that I’ve been ignoring or had forgotten about. This vanilla sock has lived in my purse for about nine months. It is a simple pattern combining my favourite vanilla sock components: 2×2 rib, flap heel, and rounded toe. I knit a few rows on it whenever I have a few unoccupied moments. It grew so slowly over time that I barely noticed the progress, and then all of a sudden this week I realized it was nearly done. Once I finish off the toe I’ll have another partial ball for hexipuffs and I’ll be halfway to a new pair of socks. I will also have a project more suited to “mindless knitting” since the beginning of a sock is much simpler than the end. This is mostly because at the end I’m constantly trying it on to decide whether it is long enough yet.

One of my November goals was to finish one of my two unread Taproot magazines. I didn’t manage to do it in November so I’m tackling the Wander issue in December instead. Its a wonderful magazine, for some reason I always want to save it for a “special” occasion that never comes. Another issue is on the way at the moment and I really want to finish this one before it arrives!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn Along – Half a Pair of Socks, and Taproot Wander

  1. caffeinegirl says:

    I do the same thing with Taproot. It’s just so beautiful that I save it for a special occasion, and then I fall behind!

  2. Pingback: Monthly Goals – December | One Stitch, One Step

  3. Pingback: Yarn Along – Wandering with Hexipuffs | One Stitch, One Step

  4. Pingback: Yarn Along – Sleep, Snowflakes and Socks | One Stitch, One Step

  5. Pingback: Yarn Along – Same Book, Same Socks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

