Yarn Along – No Border Yet, and Year of Yes

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram(#yarnalong) and Flickr.

I made a first attempt at the border on my Peppermint Bay shawl. It took me ages to figure out the instructions and get it going correctly, and then I immediately decided I hated it. Something about the combination of yarn and pattern just didn’t work, although it looks lovely in the pattern photos. After a few hours (I’m not exaggerating) of googling alternative borders I finally decided on a picot bind off like this one. It doesn’t take as much yarn as the pattern border so I’m knitting a few more repeats of the centre pattern in the first. Hopefully this plan works out because that was really the only border that I found appealing.

I’ve had Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes on hold for awhile because I thought it would be a good counterpoint to my recent focus on simplifying and learning to say no. It isn’t exactly the book I was expecting, but I’m really enjoying it. It is written in a very conversational style that makes it a quick read, although I can see how it might become annoying for some readers. The style reads as authentic to Shonda’s personality, which makes up for any shortcomings in readability. Shonda is very open in the book about her introversion, and the weight gain and withdrawal from the world that accompanied her professional success. Saying yes to everything was her way to force herself back into the world and into a much healthier place. She very deliberately pushes herself out of her comfort zone, something I recently realized I have been doing more or less intentionally for several years. In university, I forced myself to knock on a door to talk to a professor or TA I’d never spoken to before. Today I made myself get a flu shot (I hate shots). Pushing myself out of my comfort zone has become something of a habit. Reading about Shonda’s much more intentional (and well-named) process has been really interesting, and it has given me a lot to think about.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

