Yarn Along – Nearing the Border, and an Intro to Prayer

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram(#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-11-13-14-38-24

Now that Vivid is down to just weaving in ends (only 60 to go!), I’m back to working on my Peppermint Bay shawl. This is another “almost finished” project. I think I’m on the last repeat before starting the border, which is good since there is very little room left on the circular needle. I’m hoping I only have to knit the border once, but since my guess on how much yarn it will take is a total shot in the dark, a rip and re-knit is probably in my future. Oh well, there is no way to know until I go for it!

Beginner’s Grace by Kate Braestrup is the only other book (besides Unitarians in Canada) that came up when I searched “Unitarian Universalism” at the Ottawa Public Library. The author is a chaplain for the Maine Warden Service, and the book is her collected thoughts on bringing prayer of any kind into daily life. It’s an interesting read. I’ve never been comfortable with spoken prayer, but I like the idea of a regular habit that allows time and space for gratitude and reflection every day. The way Braestrup describes grace before meals particularly appeals to me, although so far I have had no luck remembering to pause before digging in. Mostly this book has prompted me to think about something that I haven’t previously considered much at all, and I’m enjoying the exploration.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along – Nearing the Border, and an Intro to Prayer

  1. zauberflink says:

    How lovely your shawl looks – so soft and subtle in colour! Please let us see a final and blocked picture once you are all done!

Leave a Comment

