Yarn Along – The Blanket Has Rows, and Unitarians in Canada

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-10-25-08-57-44

I’ll admit, this photo of my Vivid blanket looks very similar to last week’s photo. However, there is one subtle difference: all the blocks are seamed into rows. That is 24 individual seams completed in a week. My next task is to sew the rows together (that’s 5 long seams) and then weave in all the ends (60? 70? I’m not sure I want to count them all). Then it will be done! Unfortunately I find weaving in ends incredibly tedious, so that is still a major hurdle to be conquered. I’m determined to get it done for the next Ottawa Knitting Guild meeting in November, though, so hopefully that keeps me focused.

A few months ago I stumbled upon the First Unitarian Congregation of Ottawa‘s website and decided to see what their services were like. Much to my surprise, I’ve gone back several times, basically every Sunday I’ve been in town when the boyfriend wasn’t visiting. In my entire life I’ve never gone to church on a regular basis, but something about the First Unitarian services has really resonated with me. It’s not a Christian church, it is it’s own unique thing, and I’m still discovering what that is. For now I’m enjoying having a place to go on Sunday mornings for deliberate reflection and some thought-provoking sermons. It is completely outside of my comfort zone, which to me means it is probably exactly where I should be. As a little background research I checked out Unitarians in Canada, by Phillip Hewett, from the library. I chose this book because it was the only one in the whole Ottawa Public Library system on Unitarianism. It is a very in-depth historical account of Unitarianism in Canada, far more in-depth than I needed. I have an odd fascination with very focused and deeply detailed histories, so I don’t mind. It is not a book I would recommend as a general introduction to Unitarianism, but I’m still enjoying making my way through it. I’m mildly puzzled by my own interest in this topic, and I’m curious to see where it leads.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along – The Blanket Has Rows, and Unitarians in Canada

  1. itsallaboutpurple says:

    awwww, weaving in the ends, tedious but rewarding. this is beautiful, i really love the combination of colors!!!

    • Jess says:

      Thanks! I’ve been trying to think of different ways to stay motivated through the tedium. A friend of mine rewards herself with an M&M with every end she weaves in, so I might try that.

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along – Nearing the Border, and an Intro to Prayer | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

