Yarn Along – Canada Knits, and an Almost-Blanket

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-10-16-15-22-30

The only reason the photo above is missing one square from the almost-blanket is because it is on the blocking board right now. That’s right, more than a year after I cast on the first square and after many (many) Yarn Along posts, I have finished the knitting for Vivid! I laid out all the squares a few nights ago and played around with several different layouts before settling on this gradient. The squares were all knit with leftovers so I have different numbers of squares in each colour, which ruled out any stripe-based layouts. All of the squares were knit with natural shades of Shetland and North Ronaldsey wool, and I absolutely love the effect. The only sad moment was when I realized that the onion-skin-dyed yarn I had also knit up just didn’t go with the rest of the undyed squares. Those two squares are headed for the frog pond, but the blanket as it is now is so perfect I don’t mind that much. I have already started seaming the squares together using the whip stitch (aka overcast or overhand stitch). Hopefully I get much quicker as I go otherwise the seaming could take almost as long as the knitting!

I can’t remember what prompted me to put Canada Knits on hold at the library, which is a little disturbing given that it was only a couple of weeks ago. Regardless, it is an interesting read, especially for someone who wasn’t knitting in the early 1990s, when the book was written. The author, Shirley Scott, covers the history of knitting in Canada and then moves on to describing who was knitting and making yarns in Canada at the time. It is an especially fascinating time for me to read about because it is essentially pre-Internet. Yarn was still sold in department stores (does that happen any more?) or by mail-order, there was no Ravelry or knitting blogs, and everyone’s sweaters were about 4 sizes too big. It was certainly a very different time to be a knitter, and I’m really enjoying reading about it.

One thing that I’ve been reminded of while reading this book is how much I dislike the word “modern”. It loses meaning so quickly. The “modern” fashions of the 1990s described in Scott’s book would never qualify as modern now. This word irks me when it is used in almost any context. It almost feels lazy, like we don’t want to make the effort to find a more appropriate adjective. Anyway, that is just something I’ve been chewing on lately and not a specific problem with Scott’s excellent book.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along – Canada Knits, and an Almost-Blanket

  1. Christine says:

    Congrats on VIVID!!! I love the gradient effect you achieved! HUZZAH and happy seaming!

    • Jess says:

      Thanks! I’ll be sure to bring it to Guild in November to show off the finished product! Plus that will motivate me to weave in all the ends (there are SO many).

Leave a Comment

