Yarn Along – Neverending Shawl, and the last Daisy Dalrymple

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-09-27-09-21-26

I have been having a little trouble getting to bed on time this week, between reading novels until 1am and staying up late to work on my Stained Glass Quilt (last seen on the blog in April). Over the last couple of months my friend Janice and I have had semi-regular “sew dates” at our respective homes. Apparently that regular date is what it takes to get me to work on a sewing project, because all of my sewing has been done during those evenings. The first project I chose was this much-neglected quilt top, and it’s coming along nicely. Last time I had all the pieces out on my floor to get the colour balance right and then of course I had to sew it all up just to get access to my floor again. Who knows, there might be a finished quilt top to show off here one of these days.

For me, staying up late usually means I have some kind of emotional issue that I’m trying to escape by diving into reading or TV. I haven’t quite figured out what the problem is at the moment. Maybe just post-vacation blues? The Peppermint Bay shawl is the perfect knitting for times like this: soothing, interesting enough to keep from getting boring and yet simple enough that I can pick it up and put it down at any point without issue. It is so perfect that I really haven’t touched any other knitting this week.

This week I also finally reached the end of the Daisy Dalrymple mystery series. I wasn’t reading them in order, so Gunpowder Plot isn’t the most recent book, but it was the last one left for me. I’m almost tempted to go back and read them again in order, and more slowly this time! I listened to about half of the books as audiobooks through my library, and I really enjoyed those too. I loved these books enormously and would recommend them to anyone who likes Agatha Christie or Dorothy Sayer’s Lord Peter. Although not contemporary, Carola Dunn writes cozy 1920s British mysteries that you would swear were written at the time. They are fantastic. Unless you don’t want to stay up until past midnight every night reading. Then maybe give them a pass 🙂

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along – Neverending Shawl, and the last Daisy Dalrymple

  1. marjorie speir says:

    This quilt is going to be awesome when it is done!!

  2. Pingback: Conquer Lingering Tasks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

