Yarn Along – Neverending Shawl, and Feminist Fairy Tales

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-09-18-14-48-00

My Peppermint Bay shawl continues to grow, and I continue to love the long, slow rows. The only problem is that I’m starting to run out of room on my circular needle, and I don’t have a longer one to hand. You would think by now I would have all the knitting needles I could ever need! There’s always a project that needs the one missing needle…

Barbara Walker is probably best known among knitters for her Treasury of Knitting Patterns, but she also written several books on feminism and other topics. I was curious to read her Feminist Fairy Tales so I put it on my wishlist last year and received it as a gift. Walker has put feminist spins on both traditional fairy tales and other myths and legends from various cultures. It is an interesting concept, and I understand her motivation, but I’m not sure Walker’s writing style is suited to fiction. Her tone can be a little heavy-handed, and some of the stories veered too far into anti-men stereotypes for my taste. Still, overall it was a fun read and I particularly enjoyed “The Three Little Pinks”, about the fairies that paint all the flowers in the garden to give them their colour. I wouldn’t recommend this book to everyone, and I probably won’t be keeping it for long, but it was enjoyable enough for a single read-through.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – Neverending Shawl, and Feminist Fairy Tales

  1. Pingback: Conquer Lingering Tasks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

