Yarn Along – Another Yarn for Vivid, and the Making of Pride & Prejudice

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-08-22 10.08.18

 

This Vivid blanket is going to end up as a memorial of my 2012 backpacking trip to Scotland. I decided to knit the blanket originally to use up leftover Jamieson & Smith yarn (bought in Lerwick, Shetland), then added handspun Shetland wool dyed in onion skins (also bought in Lerwick). Now I’m adding another yarn from the same backpacking trip: a dark natural-coloured fingering wool, which I bought in Kirkwall, Orkney but which was produced on the island of North Ronaldsay, Orkney. During my trip I was actually able to fly out to North Ronaldsay for the day to see their unique, seaweed-eating sheep and their mini mill. The island is the northernmost in the Orkney chain and is home to about 70 people. Visiting North Ronaldsay was one of the highlights of the trip and I’m having a blast reliving all the memories while knitting up these blanket squares.

As part of my trek through my still-giant to-read pile I recently re-read The Making of Pride & Prejudice, all about the production of the 90s BBC miniseries that made Colin Firth such a heartthrob. I love the miniseries and reading this book has made me want to watch it all over again. The book is part of a special edition DVD set that I’ve had forever, but I can’t remember ever reading the book before. I always like finding out how something is made and getting to peek “behind the curtain”, so I really enjoyed this quick read. And now my to-read pile is one book smaller!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along – Another Yarn for Vivid, and the Making of Pride & Prejudice

  1. Deborah says:

    That’s lovely yarn you are using. I didn’t know sheep would eat seaweed. The book looks interesting. I have seen that version of the movie, but it’s not my favorite.

    • Jess says:

      Thanks! I think it is only these particular sheep that eat seaweed, though there may be others. As far as I know most breeds don’t eat seaweed.

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along – Seaside Mystery and Blocked Vivid Squares | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

