Yarn Along – Vivid Squares, and Another Mystery

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-08-16 09.29.38

In my quest to use up some of my older yarn stash, I recently pulled out all the remaining skeins from my backpacking trip in 2012 and went hunting for patterns to match. I bought a lot of souvenir yarn on that trip, and unearthing this yarn brought me right back to the little shop in Lerwick, Shetland where I bought it. The shop was called the Spider’s Web, and it was full of hand-knitted sweaters, hats and scarves. Only one small corner had yarn, and it was all hand-spun and all appropriately expensive. I was nearing the end of my trip and running out of room in my backpack (and room in my budget) so I picked out a tiny skein in a lovely pale yellow dyed with onion skins. I had no idea what to do with such a small amount of yarn until it occurred to me that there should be enough for a couple of squares for the Vivid blanket I started last summer. I had put the blanket aside because I ran out of the natural-coloured Shetland wool I was using. That wool came from the same trip as the onion-skin yarn, from the same town in fact, so it seemed appropriate to combine the two into one project.

After picking up my first Daisy Dalrymple Mystery two weeks ago I have now read a further 6 books and listened to 4 as audiobooks! That pretty much says all you need to know about how much I like them. The books almost seem designed to appeal particularly to me; the perfect combination of 1920s time period, cozy mystery and confident woman protagonist. Add in a talented author who clearly knows her subject matter and her genre, and it’s not surprising I’m binge-reading my way through the whole series. There are 22 books in total, with all but one at my local library. I’m not sure why one book is missing but I may have to track it down online just to satisfy my need to read them all! I’m enjoying every minute of it.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along – Vivid Squares, and Another Mystery

  1. Cathy says:

    For some reason I have been on the lookout for simple mystery novels much like Agatha Christie, perhaps these books would be good reads. Thank you for the recommendation.

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along – Seaside Mystery and Blocked Vivid Squares | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

