Yarn Along – The Same Shawl, and a 1920s Mystery

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-08-07 17.32.48

My Peppermint Bay shawl is slightly bigger and just as brown. It really isn’t that interesting to watch it grow week by week, is it? I’ll have to cast on something new just to have a bit of pretty to show you.

The title of Superfluous Women caught my eye at the library and I picked it up, even though I’d never heard of Carola Dunn. In WWI a huge section of Britain’s generation of young men died in the trenches, leaving the population with a significant gender imbalance. The women who remained were commonly called “superfluous women” by (less-than-charitable) people at the time, since they wouldn’t be able to fulfill their “true purpose” of being wives and mothers. I first read this term in the Lord Peter Wimsey detective novels by Dorothy Sayers, which were actually written in the 1920s. I love the Lord Peter novels, and there are so few of them, so I was thrilled to find that Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple mysteries are written in much the same style I’m fascinated by 1920s Britain and Dunn does a fantastic job of getting all the details just right. Since picking up Superfluous Women (#22 in the series) I have read 3 more of her books and listened to another as an audiobook, all from my local library. As with all long series of cozy mysteries they can get a bit repetitive, but so far my obsession has not abated. I’m suddenly craving all kinds of British food, everything from shepherd’s pie to a big pot of tea with scones. Yum! Maybe it is time to start planning another trip “across the pond”….

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along – The Same Shawl, and a 1920s Mystery

  1. Christine says:

    You’ll be able to get lots of Brit-influenced grub on trip to the coast soon! I told you to eat oat cakes right? Have extras for meeeee!

  2. Pingback: Conquer Lingering Tasks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

