Yarn Along – A Big Shawl, Tiny Gnomes and T-Shirt DIY

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-07-25 10.09.36

My Peppermint Bay shawl/blanket is growing quickly, so quickly that it will soon be too big to cart around as my “purse knitting”. I still have no idea what size it will end up being, and whether I have enough yarn to make it wearable, but for now I’m just enjoying the process. This shawl pattern continues with the same repeat over and over until there is just enough yarn left for the border. That kind of soothing repetition is apparently exactly what I need right now, because I can’t put it down.

My Sunday was spent mostly on a train, coming home from a long weekend in Toronto. That mini-vacation, and planning for a longer road trip later in the summer, inspired me to pull out some yarn scraps and fiddly needles and whip up the two Tiny Gnomes perched on the top of the shawl in the photo above. I had both gnome bodies knit and stuffed before the train pulled into Ottawa, and I added arms, hair and eyes the next evening after dinner. They are absolutely the cutest pair of Travel Gnomes I’ve ever seen, and I have big plans to include them in many future travel photos.

I heard about the books Generation T and Generation T: Beyond Fashion on a podcast the other day and immediately checked them out of the local library. I have a few t-shirts that I love that no longer fit me, and I’ve been trying to decide what to do with them ever since. The style in both books includes a lot of casually-ripped clothing, and many tops that only work on slim, small-busted figures, but I still found enough inspiration in the book to make them worth reading. I’m particularly drawn to the non-clothing items anyway, so the style mismatch doesn’t matter so much. Now I have more ideas of what do to with my old t-shirts than I have t-shirts to craft with!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along – A Big Shawl, Tiny Gnomes and T-Shirt DIY

  1. marjorie speir says:

    I believe your mother would like a couple of yarn gnomes for herself sometime! hint hint

  2. Pingback: Conquer Lingering Tasks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

