Yarn Along – Thinking with Alpaca

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-07-19 10.23.11

Last week I was itching to cast on something new, and so in a completely predictable fashion this week I cast on a new project. This is wonderfully soft alpaca handspun I bought in Cusco, Peru on a backpacking trip. The skein of  yarn was absolutely huge, but I still managed to overestimate it and ran out of yarn halfway through my first attempt to knit it up. I banished the project to the depths of the closet for a couple of years, then unearthed it a few months ago and frogged it entirely. If I ever get around to writing a non-Yarn-Along blog post I’ll show you what the frogged yarn looked like pre-washing and re-skeining. This week I chose Peppermint Bay for the second attempt project with this yarn. The pattern is knit from the centre out, which should allow me to knit up every scrap of this precious yarn and yield a decently-sized blanket/shawl.

After several weeks reading other books I’m back to Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman. It is still interesting, still readable but just so long. This is the copy I borrowed from my boyfriend, so I’m only reading it at home where it won’t get damaged. Of course that means I won’t be able to read it as much, but I’m just going to keep chipping away at it.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – Thinking with Alpaca

  1. Pingback: Conquer Lingering Tasks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

