Yarn Along – Socks and Knitted Letters

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-07-10 17.54.26

After finishing the knitting (and the finishing) on Mother Bear #5 and my scrap coasters (FO post to come, I promise!), the only truly in-progress knitting project I had going was my trusty vanilla socks. They have been much neglected lately so it has been good to make some progress on them. Of course I’m already getting bored and itching to cast on something new. At the moment I have 9 knitting projects that need some sort of attention, which is far more than I am comfortable with. Unfortunately they nearly all require some sort of difficult finishing, or making a decision, or buying more yarn. Still, I should probably try to make progress on at least one of them before casting on something new!

Knitted Letters, by Catherine Hirst and Erssie Major, is another book from my to-read pile that was given to me as a gift off my extensive wishlist. I was very intrigued by the concept of making typography-based knitting projects. The book contains very clear alphabet charts for about half a dozen fonts that could be useful in many projects. Unfortunately the actual projects in the book are not that interesting. Several of them look quite dated, and one sweater pattern doesn’t even include a photo of the entire sweater! I will probably keep the book just for the alphabet charts, but sadly I’m rather disappointed with the rest of it. There may be one or two patterns that make it on to my favourites list in Ravelry, but not more.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

