Yarn Along – Jane Austen and Improv Coasters

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-06-27 09.54.08

This purple yarn was intended for the Mother Bear I posted last week, but when I started knitting it up I realized it is far too rough to be part of a bear. Instead, I decided to knit it up into a seed stitch coaster, and cast on right away. I had planned to make a square coaster, of course, and I wasn’t sure how large of a coaster the little ball of yarn I had would make. So I cast on the width I wanted and just knit until the ball ran out. As it turned out I had just enough yarn to make two square-ish coasters of the size I want. Rather than rip out and re-knit the second coaster, I’m going to cut the yarn at the midpoint of the rectangle, rip out a couple of rows in both directions and bind off two new edges. Essentially I will be steeking my coaster. It will be good practice for a someday-sweater.

Now that I have finished my library backlog I’m finally making progress on my to-read shelf. I think someone gave me 101 Things You Didn’t Know About Jane Austen as a gift at some point, and I know I read it back then. This time I’m re-reading it to decide whether to keep it. I’m enjoying learning (re-learning?) more about Jane Austen, and reading this book has made me want to re-read some of Jane Austen’s novels, but I don’t think I’ll be keeping this book once I’m finished it. The “101 Things” style doesn’t really appeal to me, I’d rather read a narrative biography of Austen rather than jump around to different topics. Still, I’m glad to give it one last read before passing it on.

 

 

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along – Jane Austen and Improv Coasters

  1. I’m so afraid of steeking! Good on you for going for it! I’m also a big Austen fan, and would definitely recommend Claire Tomalin’s biography of her – it’s fantastic. 🙂 x

Leave a Comment

