Yarn Along – A New Bear, and the Creativity Cure

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-06-21 09.59.02

Another project that isn’t hexipuffs! After last week I was suddenly inspired to pick up old WIPs and cast on so many new things at the same time. This Mother Bear is the first of the new “inspirations” to actually make it on to the needles. I’m trying to use up bits and pieces of worsted yarn, and of course the amounts aren’t quite right for what I want to do. Since this photo was taken I decided that the purple was too rough to be in a cuddly toy, so I’ve put it aside for coasters instead. I have some variegated acrylic I’m going to dig up for the bear’s pants, and I’m going to have to knit the pays in black since there was only enough brown yarn left for the head. This is going to be a very mix-and-match bear, but hopefully he works out. I love the Mother Bear Project and it is a great way to use up worsted/aran leftovers from other projects.

I have finally finished the epic Turing biography, and returned it to the library only a few days late. This has brought me up-to-date with all the books I have on hold, so I’m finally going back to my to-read bookshelf. The Creativity Cure, by Carrie and Alton Barron, is one of those books that I heard about at some point, put on my wishlist, and then received as a gift at my birthday or Christmas. I only add books to my wishlist that I can’t get at the library, and they usually sit on the list for long enough that I’m totally surprised when I get them as gifts! All that to say I honestly can’t remember what led me to this book in the first place. The premise of the book is that adding creativity to your life can solve a lot of the problems of anxiety and mild depression that we experience, which is an appealing concept. So far I’m not impressed with the writing style: the book is addressed directly to the reader and the number of Capitalized Terms and Acronyms is already getting irritating. The premise is interesting enough to slog through the writing so far, and I’m hoping the book turns to more practical advice soon.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

