Yarn Along – Turing Again, and Sunfleet Returns!

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-06-14 10.04.04

I used up another ball of leftover yarn knitting hexipuffs and then found myself at a bit of a loss for projects. I have a sock in progress and a vest that has been stalled for months but neither was really appealing. Then I remembered this lace scarf that I started about this time last year. It took me ages to find the right beads and then I got bored with the repeats of the first pattern and put it away. Now of course it is all fresh and new again! The pattern is called Moonfleet but the yarn is in very sunny colours so I have named this project Sunfleet instead. Of course I also started another hexipuff since a lace scarf on straight needles isn’t a very convenient project to shove into my purse.

I’m still inching my way through Andrew Hodge’s biography of Alan Turing, “Alan Turing: The Enigma“. It is a very, very long book. And it is due back at the library tomorrow. I may be accruing some late fees on this one. I am probably about 3/4 of the way done now. Hodges does a decent job of providing a complete context for all of Turing’s work and the time he was living in, but it does get a bit much at times. Also his language is occasionally flowery or oddly metaphorical in a way I can’t always follow. Still, I’m getting a much deeper insight into this father of computer science than I ever got from the movie (The Imitation Game). I never knew just how much Turing was able to predict of the future of computers and computer programming, before the word “computer” meant anything more than “a person who does calculations.” I’m very glad I was finally able to get it out of the library, after nearly 18 months on hold!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – Turing Again, and Sunfleet Returns!

  1. Desiree says:

    I love the colors! Good luck with your Summerfleet!

Leave a Comment

