Yarn Along – The Shepherd’s Life, with Another Hexipuff

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-05-31 19.45.11

The baby hat is ongoing, but in the meantime I’ve gone back to hexipuffs as my “plain knitting” project. I still have a long way to go before I have enough hexipuffs for a blanket, although I am starting to run out of appropriate yarn. One of my goals for the year is to use up a lot of the partial balls and older yarn in my stash, and the tiny hexipuffs have been perfect for all my sport, fingering and lace-weight scraps.

Another week, another library book, this time The Shepherd’s Life by James Rebanks. James is a sheep farming in England’s Lake District, and he does a fantastic job of bringing the fells to life for his readers. In many ways this book reminds me of All Creatures Great and Small, except James is speaking directly to his readers in a way that is all his own. He captures the beauty of the landscape and the toughness of the farmers and their flocks, and still communicates the practical realities of farming life in a matter-of-fact way. I’m really enjoying this peek into a way of life that is very different than my own.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along – The Shepherd’s Life, with Another Hexipuff

  1. caffeinegirl says:

    I love the hexipuffs!
    Thanks for reminding me of that book. I think it’s going to be my next Audible purchase!

  2. ah, hexipuffs, I believe they are like potato chip eating, can’t stop after one, right?

  3. handmade by amalia says:

    I’ve had my book on my reading pile for a while now. I should get to it.
    Amalia
    xo

Leave a Comment

