Yarn Along – My Life on the Road, with a Fair Isle Baby Hat

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

 

2016-05-23 14.33.52

I finally finished Lintilla! It still needs ends woven in and a good blocking before I can do a show it off here, though. After knitting a few rows on a vanilla sock as a palate cleanser, I cast on a project that I’ve had planned for at least 3 years now. I bought these three tiny balls of Baby Wool back in 2012 with the idea of knitting them up into a fair isle baby hat of my own design. At some point I worked out all the math about how big a hat I could make and how large the stitch patterns should be. I even sketched out some stitch patterns on graph paper, although I ended up changing two of the three patterns once I started knitting. I’m really pleased with how it is knitting up so far, and as usual the colourwork is incredibly addictive so it is working up quickly. My only worry is that the hat is turning out longer than I had thought it would, so I may not be able to do two repeats of each pattern.

I have had My Life on the Road on hold at the library for months, so long that I don’t actually remember what prompted me to reserve it in the first place. I didn’t know much about Gloria Steinem except that she is a prominent feminist figure. After reading this book I think she might just be my new hero. She manages to pull off a book that should be confusing and hard-to-follow, with a rather rambling narrative that jumps between different time periods and little in the way of a connecting thread between chapters. Instead, the book is heartwarming, thought-provoking and gives a young feminist like me a peak into the early days of the second wave. I came away with an enormous sense of gratitude for Steinem and the work that she does. She also manages to capture the innate conflict that is part of all people who love to travel but also love coming home. I really enjoyed this book, as evidenced by the fact that I devoured it in all of 5 days!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – My Life on the Road, with a Fair Isle Baby Hat

  1. Marjorie Speir says:

    Hmmmm……interesting sounding book. Would love to hear more about that when you are home this weekend. Want to “travel” to St. Jacobs and chat on the way?

Leave a Comment

