Yarn Along – Better Than Before with Lintilla

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-05-01 13.06.49

 

Lintilla is getting slightly longer and slightly wider. It looks like I should have enough yarn to make something wearable, but I’m not completely confident yet. I’m not sure what I’ll do if I get to the end and there isn’t enough…find contrasting yarn for the border? I’m having enough fun knitting it that I’m just going to wait and see.

Listening to Gretchen Rubin’s podcast Happier recently inspired me to re-read her happiness books. I’ve already re-read the first two, and my hold on the final book, Better Than Before, just arrived at the library a few days ago. Gretchen loves to name things: the Four Tendencies, the Strategy of Moderation and so many more. At first I found this slightly annoying, but now it has become endearing. On her podcast her enthusiasm for these concepts comes through more strongly, and the enthusiasm is catching. The book is overflowing with great advice on how to build good habits and get rid of bad habits. It is one of the few books I’ve read on this topic that deals directly with fitting the habit strategies to your personality and lifestyle, rather than the other way around. Many people recommend getting up earlier to add new habits or activities to your day, and that just doesn’t work for me; I’m definitely a night person. Gretchen actually acknowledges the differences between morning people (Larks) and night people (Owls) and gives different advice for each type. I’m really enjoying re-reading this book and reflecting on how I’ve put some of Gretchen’s ideas to good use in my own life, and I’m getting inspired to try more of them in the future!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

