Yarn Along – Lintilla, and more Thinking

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-04-24 17.37.04

I cast on a new project! This is Lintilla, which I’m knitting up in an alpaca/wool/mohair blend I bought at Rhinebeck in 2014. I love knitting from stash, especially the variegated yarns. The colours always looks so different knit up than they do in the skein. This skein of yarn is a little woolier and a little less yardage than the ideal for this pattern, so I’m probably going to end up with a fluffy shawlette rather than a long drapey scarf. I knew that going in, though, and I’m loving the way the colours are working up in this pattern. The pattern is also simple enough that I’ve already memorized it, but not so simple that I get bored, which is just about perfect. Now I just need to find more time to knit…

I’m still working on Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman. It is a slow read, not because it is difficult but rather because you want to understand each concept before moving forward. It is also a fairly large, densely-typed book. I actually had to return this copy to the library so I’m back to reading my boyfriend’s copy (the one I’m very careful not to damage) while I sit through the hold queue again. I’ve gotten a little click-happy lately so my hold list is getting out of control. This would be fine except I’m really trying to get through the pile of to-read books I already own! So I’m trying to keep from adding any more books to my library list for awhile. There are just too many books out there I want to read! Which is, when you think about it, an excellent problem to have.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn Along – Lintilla, and more Thinking

  1. Tina says:

    Oh that is going to be lovely and the color is awesome 😊

  2. Sarah says:

    Isn’t that wonderful thing about books, though? There are always more to read. Sounds like an interesting book you have going, and I love the color of your knitting. Slightly variegated yarns tend to be my favorites!

    • Jess says:

      That is exactly it! There are always more to read, and that is wonderful. I need to keep focusing on that instead of stressing out about my to-read pile.

  3. Elise says:

    I looove that yarn colour!

Leave a Comment

