Yarn Along – Thinking Fast and Slow with Puffs

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-04-17 13.19.59

Look, a non-blue project! Although on closer examination probably half of these puffs are some shade of blue…I clearly have very specific colour preferences. This photo shows all the puffs I have knit since my last round of seaming, and they are now all blocked and ready to be attached to the main blanket. I’ve bundled them away for now since I’m not quite ready for more seaming, but it was fun to lay them all out and see how many I’ve made over the last few months. In total I have about 170 puffs, the 100 in the photo above and 70 in the blanket. According to the pattern that means I am just over halfway to a 2×3 foot blanket. I haven’t decide if I’ll actually stop at that size or if I’ll just keep knitting puffs until I can’t stand the sight of them any more. I like that there is no end date or push to the finish, it is just work-as-you-wish.

My boyfriend recommended the book Thinking Fast and Slow, by Daniel Kahneman, to me about a year ago. He even lent me his copy! Unfortunately I tend to be hard on books since I drag them with me everywhere I go. I tried to just read this book before bed but requires some active thought and I couldn’t manage it late at night. About a month ago I hit on a solution – I got a copy from the library! Now I can drag it around as much as I want. The book is all about how our mind works, the things happening “behind the scenes” that shape our thoughts and decisions that we aren’t even aware of. Kahneman summarizes cutting-edge psychological research in a way that is completely accessible to an ordinary (aka non-academic) reader. The results of that research are fascinating. If you are at all interested in why we think the way we do, check it out. I’ve read so many other books that referenced this one, and I’ve had it on my to-read list for ages. It’s great to finally dive in.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

