Yarn Along – Margaret Sanger and a Heel Flap

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-04-12 10.31.09 Ugh, what a week. I was even more behind on the Ottawa Knitting Guild newsletter than I usually am, and between the stress over that and the sleep deprivation trying to finish it I ended up in a bit of a tailspin. That would be why I didn’t post on Monday. Thankfully the newsletter is now done and I am about to put myself to bed early to try to get back to normal. I’m trying to break the cycle of building sleep deprivation during the week and sleeping all weekend to make up for it. So far there have been few victories in this battle.

Still knitting my vanilla sock, I am now at the heel flap on the first sock. I really have got to cast on something new, preferably in a colour other than blue. Everything I am knitting is blue. Time to dive into the Ravelry queue…

I can’t remember exactly what prompted me to get this biography of Margaret Sanger by Jean H. Baker out of the library. I think it was listening to this podcast back in December. Regardless, the book is due back at the library next week so I’ve been reading it to the exclusion of all else in an attempt to finish it in time. The book is rather long and a bit too detailed for my interest level, but its still a good read. Especially if you want to appreciate just how far we’ve come in the last century where birth control is concerned. A lot of the progress is due to Sanger’s determined crusade during a time when talking about birth control was considered obscene and sending birth control literature through the mail was illegal. That Comstock guy was quite something else. The book is enlightening, if not always comfortable, reading and I’m glad to know the history of this often-controversial figure in the history of women’s rights.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along – Margaret Sanger and a Heel Flap

  1. caffeinegirl says:

    That sounds like a good book, but I might not be able to get through all the detail. I’ve become good at not finishing books. I know some people think that’s terrible, but I am quite happy not dragging myself through books.

    • Jess says:

      I think that’s great! I’m a compulsive finisher and there have been a few times where I wished I had an easier time letting books go. This book is worth the slog to me at the moment, though.

Leave a Comment

