Yarn Along – Frostbitten Puffs

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-04-03 17.43.54I really need to cast on something other than hexipuffs, if only to make these weekly updates a little more interesting. They are just so quick and satisfying, each one is a tiny finished object all on its own. After knitting the raindrops for my Rainycloud, I immediately knit up the rest of that partial ball into puffs. That means that I’m now back to the other partial ball of (blue) sock yarn that seems to violate all laws of physics and create yarn as fast as I knit it up. Also, why is everything I am knitting these days some shade of blue? One of life’s mysteries.

One of these days I’m going to throw caution to the wind and actually cast on something new. It will be quite shocking, I’m sure.

I’m almost through the pile of “books to re-read” that came out of my KonMari book purge last September. These books were ones I thought I might want to let go after reading them one last time. I picked up Bitten by Kelley Armstrong a couple of days ago and devoured in in about a day. Over the next two days I started and finished the other two books I own from the Women of the Otherworld series, Stolen and Frostbitten. It turns out I still love the Elena books, and I’m not getting rid of them any time soon! Only four of the Women of the Otherworld books (the three I own, plus another one called Haunted) have Elena as the main character and narrator. I prefer Elena over the narrators of the other books, so I don’t have any desire to re-read the rest of the series and in fact don’t own any of the other books. I did read most of them at one point, though.

The Women of the Otherworld is a supernatural fantasy series based on the idea that supernatural races (werewolves, vampires, witches, sorcerers etc) live in secret in our world. The books are set all over the US and even dip into Canada a few times. I love the parts set in Toronto, like most Canadians I’m secretly thrilled whenever we are mentioned in an American context. Kelley Armstrong is actually Canadian, but the series is set predominantly in US it still feels like an American context. These books are definitely meant for an adult audience, with some descriptions of violence and sex that more squeamish readers might not enjoy. If you don’t mind that, though, check these books out. Armstrong knows how to write fantastic strong female characters.

After reading the three Elena books I own I’m now watching the TV series Bitten as well. It is based on the book series but deviates significantly from it almost immediately. The third and final season is just now airing on TV so I won’t have to wait on any episodes. I’m trying not to binge-watch the whole thing, but at least I can get some good knitting time in while I work my way through all three seasons.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

