Yarn Along – First Signs of Spring

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-03-27 13.40.29I took this photo over Easter weekend at my parents’ home in Burlington. Unlike Ottawa, it is warm enough in Burlington that actual flowers are blooming. Whereas in Ottawa, we apparently still have snow on the way. I soaked up as much spring warmth as I could over the weekend, and it was wonderful.

Another sign of spring, besides the beautiful spring flowers and sunlight that actually warms your face, is a new issue of Taproot! I love this magazine. It has no ads at all and is printed on lovely thick, shiny paper. Within its pages there is always at least one recipe or craft that I want to try immediately, and there is always at least one article that I find myself mulling over for days. Usually I burn through my reading material, devouring it as quickly as possible, but each article in Taproot demands my full attention. I can’t just flick the page over the next article without pausing and fully digesting the one just finished. This means it often takes me months to get through a single issue. Whenever I go on a ramble, either in the city or on a trail walk, Taproot is inevitably the reading material that comes with me. I spent part of Easter Sunday morning sitting on the front step, reading Taproot and basking in the sun.

I brought all kinds of knitting projects with me on my trip to Burlington, but the only thing that I actually worked on were my latest vanilla socks. The first sock seemed to be coming out a little small, so I tried it on one night while the whole family was watching TV, which provoked some mocking. I guess they had never seen someone put on a half-knit, still-on-the-needles sock before!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn Along – First Signs of Spring

  1. Christine says:

    They’ve been missing out! The sock madness forum is nothing but pictures of socks being tried on in various states of doneness!

    • Jess says:

      How else do you know if it is long enough? 😀 Although I imagine it is less scary-looking when done with circular needles instead of the tiny stabby bamboo DPNs I use!

  2. Zena says:

    I love how your sock yarn matched the new taproots edition.

  3. Pingback: WIP Motivation | One Stitch, One Step

  4. Tina says:

    Love your sock!!! I just got my Taproot Mag too .. love this issue 🙂

Leave a Comment

