Yarn Along – Puff Madness and Winston Churchill

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-03-21 09.48.53

The hexipuff madness continues! I used up all the yarn leftover from the beaded wristers (still waiting on seaming before they can be revealed in all their finished glory). Those hexipuffs are on the left in the photo above. The hexipuffs on the right are knit on smaller needles than usual since the yarn is more of a light fingering. It turns out I’m noticeably slower at churning out hexipuffs on the smaller, bamboo needles than the usual metal ones. At the moment the hexipuffs and the vanilla socks from last week are my only projects on the needles. I haven’t had the brain power or inclination to cast on anything new lately. My plan for the Easter long weekend is to get through some of my UFOs that need finishing, which should leave me some room (mentally and physically) to cast on something new.

After reading two of Gretchen Rubin’s books on happiness (The Happiness Project and Happier at Home), I wanted to check out some of her earlier writing. Gretchen wrote two biographies before her happiness books, and this one on Winston Churchill (Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill) was the only one in the Ottawa Library. It is an unusual style of biography; the 40 short chapters make for easy reading and each one gives a different insight into Churchill’s life and motivations. A few of the chapters felt like literary exercises in how you can argue completely different points of view with the same basic facts, which I found much less interesting than the more straightforward chapters. Gretchen explicitly lists this as one of her aims with her book, so the effect is intentional. It turns out I like my biographies to stick to one consistent opinion! As always, your mileage may vary. I learned a lot about Churchill that I hadn’t known before, despite a longstanding interest in the World Wars in Britain. Overall I would recommend the book to anyone looking for a brief, broad overview of Churchill’s life.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along – Puff Madness and Winston Churchill

  1. Snap says:

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ve always been fascinated with Churchill and his family. Love puffs!

Leave a Comment

