Yarn Along – Socks! and an Embroidery Primer

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-03-13 16.10.40

There was slightly more knitting in my week compared to last week, but more importantly there was also more finishing. I conquered a mountain of mattress stitch at odd angles over the weekend to assemble the cloud part of Rainycloud, and finished the knitting on my beaded wristers. So that means one project out of the “needs-finishing” pile…and one project in. At least the pile is holding steady and not growing out of control! I cast on the socks in the photo above during a multi-movie marathon Saturday night (My Big Fat Greek Wedding and Gosford Park, I regret nothing). They are plain vanilla socks to show off this shiny merino/tencel blend I bought at Rhinebeck in 2014. This is project #3 from that Rhinebeck haul, out of a potential 5-6 or so (I think, it’s been awhile).

I followed Rebecca Ringquist‘s blog for awhile and was given one of her dropcloth samplers for Christmas a few years ago, so when she came out with a book (Rebecca Ringquist’s Embroidery Workshop) I immediately put it on hold at the library. I love embroidery, but I haven’t done much of it. At the moment it is more of a theoretical love than a practical one. That sampler is still tucked away in a box somewhere, waiting for my attention. The book is beautiful, with thick pages and vibrant photos of Rebecca’s samplers illustrating each stitch. The first section covers types of stitches, with later sections discussing techniques for tracing patterns, drawing with stitches, layering fabrics and finishing projects. Each section is intermingled with projects demonstrated each technique. The book even comes with a sampler printed on cloth for you to practice on, and I was impressed to see it was still there, undamaged, in this library copy. Rebecca’s style is a little more free-form than I am comfortable with, but I like her enthusiasm and her passion for bright colours. The one drawback is that can be hard to learn a stitch from just an illustration, so you may still need to follow up with a video tutorial in addition to the book.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along – Socks! and an Embroidery Primer

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along – Socks! and an Embroidery Primer | One Stitch, One Step

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along – Puff Madness and Winston Churchill | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

