Yarn Along – Return of the Hexipuffs

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-03-06 13.23.36

The hexipuffs are back! I’m determined to use up my oldest stash, and at the moment the easiest way to do that is to get back to my Beekeeper’s Quilt. I’m still a long way from finished. In fact, I’m studiously avoiding thinking about how many more of these puffy little hexagons I have to knit before this blanket is finished. It is an eternal WIP, and I’m ok with that. I would like to cast on something new before I get too bored, I just haven’t had the brain space to do that lately. Hexipuffs are a good interim project anyway.

Several of the simple living podcasts and blogs I subscribe to have mentioned the book Essentialism: the Disciplined Pursuit of Less lately, so I picked it up from the library on a whim. It hasn’t resonated with me as much as Notes from a Blue Bike did, I think mostly because it is aimed at a more corporate, workaholic audience. The aim of the book seems to be to convince overachievers to choose to do only the opportunities that match their values, rather than trying to accomplish everything at once. It is a powerful message, and the book is well written. I could certainly use the reminder to stop saying yes to every opportunity, but it just doesn’t feel as if the book were written for me. Which is absolutely fine – I don’t expect to be the target audience of every book I read! Maybe I’ll come back to this one in a decade and find it resonates more then. In the meantime, I’m going to finish it up and move on to the next book in my rapidly-growing pile. I stopped suspending all my holds at the library in an attempt to clear out the backlog, and now I’m being somewhat inundated with books. Which is a rather fun state to be in, too be honest.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along – Return of the Hexipuffs

  1. Juliann says:

    I listened to the audio version of this book and enjoys it as a listen. Blue Bike is another on I really liked.

  2. arabianknits says:

    That book sounds interesting. Aside from wanting to declutter our home and learn not to be so attached to material things, we also are a large family in a small house, so learning how to do this is essential.

    I also have that blanket in my library, but I haven’t gotten to it yet.

Leave a Comment

