Yarn Along – The Happiness Project and slow progress on Beaded Wristers

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-03-01 09.19.40

This single repeat on my beaded wrister represents all of my knitting for the week. Most of it was knit over a few hours on Sunday while marathoning the third season of RWBY with on my boyfriend’s new (and very comfortable) couch. RWBY is an animated web series that my boyfriend loves; about a month ago he convinced me to watch an episode and I got hooked. Unfortunately there are only three seasons, so now we need to find something else to watch on our weekends. I had great plans to cast on a pair of vanilla socks at some point since the wristers require some attention and so don’t suit every occasion, but the moment never materialized. I usually knit while watching TV, and I haven’t been doing that much lately, so I have been knitting much less. I need to find another way to include knitting in my daily rhythm.

Listening to Gretchen Rubin’s podcast Happier prompted me to check out her book The Happiness Project from the library. I often read fiction books more than once, but this is one of the few non-fiction books I’ve ever re-read. Different parts of the book are catching my attention on this second read. For instance, pretty much everything Gretchen tried in the month when she focused on improving her energy levels, are ideas that I’m trying right now. Maybe that’s a coincidence, or maybe the ideas have just been sitting in my subconscious somewhere, waiting for me to use them. Either way, it was an encouraging realization, since clearly many of these ideas worked for Gretchen. It’s been a fun re-read, since the Happiness Project is a thought-provoking book, full of great ideas all explored through the lens of Gretchen’s personal experience. I really enjoy self-experimentation books and Gretchen’s is one of the best.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

