Yarn Along – Knitting Reading and Knitting Beading

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-02-21 11.15.31

I cast on the second beaded wrister, knit 6 rows and promptly ripped it out again because I had cast on too many stitches. That is what I get for keeping faint and confusing notes on the first wrister. I find the wristers slow going, especially the bead placement rows. Still, having all the beads pre-strung on the yarn does make the project more portable than any beaded knitting I’ve tried before. And seeing the pattern emerge line-by-line is just as satisfying as Fair Isle.

One of the results of applying the KonMari process to my books is that my to-read pile grew dramatically. Many books in the pile are ones that I have read before and want to read again before deciding whether to keep them or let them go. So far I’ve found that I put about half of these “re-read” books into the donate pile. I usually know within the first few chapters whether it is a keeper, but I still read the whole book. It takes a lot to get me to put down a book partway through, completionist that I am. I’m currently (re)reading Knitlit the Third, a Chicken Soup-style book of short essays and stories more or less related to knitting. I bought it originally for the piece by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, and while I’m enjoying the re-read I think this book is destined for the donate pile. Many of the stories are moving and heartfelt, but I definitely respond more to longer pieces and find reading one short essay after another somewhat disjointed.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along – Knitting Reading and Knitting Beading

  1. Kylie M-W says:

    Your knitting is so beautiful! I love the subtle contrast of the beads and the yarn. I have yet to try beading but perhaps this spring is the time.

Leave a Comment

