Yarn Along – Corsets and Beaded Wristers

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. You can click the Yarn Along image at the end of this post to see the whole link-up. You can also find Yarn Along photos on Instagram (#yarnalong) and Flickr.

2016-02-17 22.02.10

My first Yarn Along in months! I have read many books over the last few months. My knitting efforts are possibly less impressive, as I’m having trouble fitting knitting into my new 9-5 life. I still get a stitch in here and there, though.

I usually read multiple books at once. At the moment my main book, which I am reading over breakfast and dinner, is The Corset, A Cultural History by Valerie Steele. I was given a another corset-related book, Victorian Secrets by Sarah A. Chrisman for Christmas. That book is a sort of memoir, a first-person narrative of one woman’s experience with a corset. I started Victorian Secrets, then realized I knew nothing about corsets and promptly checked The Corset out of the library. The Corset is a more academic book, examining different aspects of the history of corsets and how that history has been misinterpreted and skewed by various modern interests. It has many beautiful illustrations of corsets in advertisements, cartoons and paintings. I love histories that give me a peek into everyday life of ordinary people of the past, especially the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. I’ve never worn a corset, but reading this book has certainly made me tempted to try one! In fairness, it also makes me glad I don’t have to wear one every day.

Donna Druchunas visited the Ottawa Knitting Guild last spring and taught a class on Lithuanian beaded wristers, and ever since then at our monthly meetings at least one person has a new pair to show off. After hearing for months about how quick and easy they are, I had to cast a pair on for myself. First I attempted the complicated flower pattern in the original pattern (on Knitty), but pattern-bead-yarn combination didn’t work out. The beads were too shiny and dark, and overwhelmed the yarn when placed so closely together. Then I found a crochet pattern with beading I liked better, so I translated the beading layout to work with the knitting pattern instead. It is a little fiddly, and the beads are strung on first so if you make any mistakes you have to rip back to that stitch. I have ripped back a LOT of rows! So they aren’t always “quick” and “easy”, but they are beautiful. This wrister is almost finished, and I have a feeling the second will go much quicker. I can’t wait to finish them and show them off!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along – Corsets and Beaded Wristers

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along – New Yarn for Garter Squish, and Victorian Secrets | One Stitch, One Step

  2. Pingback: 2016 Year In Review | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

