Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2015-10-21 13.52.49

If September was the month of missed Friday posts, October is turning into the month of missed Monday posts. I may need to rethink my posting schedule! I spent most of Monday driving back to Ottawa from visiting my parents on the weekend, then got distracted by the election results (very exciting!). Somehow I still feel so behind on everything, so maybe this is my week to catch up, finally.

I’m re-reading several books in my library before deciding whether to keep them or not, and next up is The Swiss Family Robinson by J.D. Wyss. I think this one is a keeper, it is a classic book about a swiss family who get stranded on a tropical island after a shipwreck and have to work together to survive. They get stranded with a ton of stuff from the ship and the island is teeming with life, so they don’t exactly struggle with survival, but it is still a fun (if unrealistic) read. I haven’t read it ages so I’m enjoying returning to it after all this time. I also like knowing that my decision to keep it is an intentional choice, rather than just a default “oh I always keep that one” thought process. That has been one of the biggest lessons of the KonMari process for me, learning to intentionally choose to keep things rather than following past behaviour without much thought.

I haven’t been knitting as much lately because of all the family time, but last night I picked up my Moonfleet shawl/stole again. It is slow going with the bead work, and I’m not a huge fan of the way the colour is pooling, but I’m persevering. The yarn is a gradient set and I think I’ll like the other colours much better once I get to them.This is going to be a very long-term project.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

