Blog Catchup – Almonte FibreFest

This is my third in a series of catch-up posts on my “adventures” throughout September. Luckily (?) I haven’t had as many adventures in October so I’m not falling behind.

About a month ago on a rainy Sunday I got up early and drove about a half hour west of Ottawa to Almonte (I visited Almonte earlier in the summer, too) for the Mississippi Valley Textile Museum’s FibreFest. I had no idea what to expect except that I would be manning the Ottawa Knitting Guild’s table for most of the morning. FibreFest is split between the Museum and the Almonte Arena; the latter houses the vendors and the Guild tables so that is where I headed first.

I saw this wonderful yarn truck (a cross between a food truck and a yarn store, so awesome) on my way in:

2015-09-13 10.09.44

The morning was really fun, I got to meet lots of people attending the festival and tell them all about the Knitting Guild. We also chatted with the other Guilds that occupied tables around us, everything from quilting to spinning and weaving to smocking. Once my shift was over I headed into the main hall to check out the vendors. It was an eclectic mix, mostly fibre-related but also some vintage clothing booths. There was also a booth selling wooden blocks painted with lambs for the “lamb race” at the end of the day. They throw all the wooden blocks into the river before the waterfall and the first one to make it to a certain point at the other end wins a prize!

2015-09-13 13.27.29

I thought this booth, with their “Game of Thrums” theme, was especially clever!

2015-09-13 13.34.24 2015-09-13 13.19.36 2015-09-13 13.34.44

I just whisked through the vendor’s hall marvelling at all the booths; no shopping for an unemployed former grad student like me! I did take several cards from vendors with rug hooking supplies, and got to actually try rug hooking at a demo table. That is definitely going to be my “next craft”, once I have money to buy supplies that is!

After I was done at the vendor’s hall I grabbed a quick snack and drove across town (5 minutes, max) to the Mississippi Valley Textile Museum for the show put on by the Ottawa Valley Guild of Stitchery. I’ve been wanting to get more into embroidery (there are too many fun crafts!) and this show was incredibly inspirational.

2015-09-13 14.41.48 2015-09-13 14.43.15 2015-09-13 14.46.25 2015-09-13 14.53.12

I can’t even believe those last two are embroidered (the galaxy is cross stitch) and I saw them up close! These are the kind of things I want to do with cross stitch and embroidery, even those seem incredibly detailed and time consuming. I want to be able to put cross stitch on my walls that you can’t tell is cross stitch until you look closely! When I’ll find the time, of course, is another matter. Fibrefest was worth it just for this exhibit alone, and the shopping wasn’t too bad either 🙂

Just one more catch-up post and I’ll be all caught up! Look for that one (all about Bermuda!) on Monday.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Ottawa. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog Catchup – Almonte FibreFest

  1. Christine says:

    One of my current life goals is to see that yarn truck. True story.

  2. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

